Poets logo

Ballerina

Ballerina in a Box

By Lakrisha RaymondPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Ballerina in a box

Perfectly set on my rod

Twirl me, spin me, make me dance

Ballerina in a box

So poised, so perfect

Poke me, prod me, turn me into your puppet

Ballerina in a box

Eyes bleeding sorrow beneath my solemn gaze

Maybe we can break me free from this rod

But I’m just a ballerina in a box

All I needed to know; left untaught

But I can twirl, I can spin, and look, I can dance

When will anyone see?

I’m a ballerina in a box

A book with a cover

A face with a mask

A heart no one knows

Born between the unread pages

An unlearned lesson

Is not unknown, it just needs remembrance

Ballerina in a box

Undo all I was taught

Unravel the glue that’s always held me together

I want to dance freely and let my heart sing

Ballerina, in my box I collected everything I needed to reassemble the fractal pieces of who I long to be

A porcelain doll shatters

And 369 million ballerinas in boxes are born

When the music stops

And the cog wheels halt

The ballerinas need their boxes no more

And they can be anything and everything they want

They remember the porcelain before it shattered

They are home, out of their boxes and back in the between

A ballerina becomes a butterfly, a butterfly becomes a phoenix, a phoenix becomes a lioness, and a lioness emerges from the mud as the purest form of the Lotus within…

A Prismatic Dancer

Ready to break every rod, and smash every box

Ready to unravel all the glue and help you reconnect too

A ballerina in a box becomes everything she wasn’t and then welcomes her old self home too.

For the lessons from the box formed the creation of the Prismatic Dancer

Of the one who can dance across all spectrums of light and sound

Ballerina in a box, without you all hope would have been lost.

We honor you, and we thank you, Ballerina in a box;

We carry your heart in our hearts and your dreams in our days.

Ballerina in a Box, undid all she was taught

Ballerina in a box

Will never be forgot

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lakrisha Raymond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.