Poets logo

I'm here for all of it

Embracing my true nature

By Lakrisha RaymondPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I'm here for ALL of it, and I have no problem making noise.

I'll flip the table and I'll wake up my beast to protect myself or my loved ones, if I have to.

I have never fit into social norms, and now is definitely not the time to start.

I am rare, I am opinionated, and I demand the same respect that is demanded of me regardless of position or title.

The words you use and the way you require your needs be met to give love, it matters. No one will be sensitive to your trauma or experience if you aren't sensitive to theirs.

Humans can only understand each other by working together. By communicating hurts and working through the subjective language divide.

Trying to hide behind closed doors until we look calm and pretty enough to be accepted into society is part of social conditioning. And it breeds mental illness.

We are not in the 50s, I am not a stepford wife and doctors don't give out orgasms for hysteria anymore. So I'm not participating.

Yes, I said that. I said NO.

There is no shame in healing.

There is no shame in the way we are.

There is no shame in unconditional love.

There is no shame in our sexuality.

There is no shame in our trauma.

There is no shame.

The only shame that exists is the shame we've all been conditioned to think matters.

People judge what they don't understand, so understand yourself and make yourself known

Use that voice.

I love you.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lakrisha Raymond

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.