Poets logo

Baking Boondoggle

But, Blueberried Bliss!

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago 1 min read
13
https://pixabay.com/users/ritae-19628/

Bailey battled burning batter,

Barely bringing back brutalized bruléed bananas.

Betty bested Bailey, boasting bewilderingly bittersweet breadfruit bars.

Bree bandaged Bailey's burned bicep by beautifully bending butterfly bandages.

-

Bess- burgeoning braggadocio! - brandished bungled Baklava,

But Brianna benefited by 'boosting' Bonnie's buttermilk brie!

Benjamin (buttoned-breathless-bookseller Benjamin!) believed better!

Benny bribed Brandy by blowing bioluminescent bubbles, backstabbing Ben!

-

Bebe busted Bryce broadcasting bicarbonate behind breadbaskets!

Brendan blamed Becky's bumbershoot blocking Bryce's bad behavior.

(Becky beckoning Bryce behind bookshelves? Belabored breathing begun!)

Backstage, ballistic Bradley barely beat beginner's backwardness.

-

Brutal baking boondoggles, biweekly baseless banality!

Blasted baking brigade- blatantly brittle bellowing buffoons-

Beware! Bypass Beverly, bright but biting, broad-backed Bev!

Batch by batch- baking blameless blueberry baguettes; Bev's beautiful bounty.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

This peek backstage at a baking debacle is a tautogram. Here is my research into this unusual form of poetry:

Here are two more tautograms that I wrote for the Vocal Tautogram Challenge:

If my writing speaks to you, please click on the heart below and leave me a comment so I'll know.

If there was a sentence or phrase you particularly enjoyed please let me know in the comments.

performance poetry
13

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant beautiful!!!💖💖💕

  • Brilliant Bakery Bedrazzling !!!!

  • Sandra Matosabout a year ago

    Another winner! Go, Bev!

  • Gigi Gibsonabout a year ago

    Well done Judey! Your poem reminds me of a song that we had to learn in music class at school back in the dinosaur era. Part of the lyrics were… Betty Botter bought some butter, but she said the butter’s bitter. If I put it in my batter it will make my batter bitter… “ It was a great tongue-twister that made us laugh as we kept speeding up the lyrics. Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Great stuff!

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    My favorites: Bailey battled burning batter, Barely bringing back brutalized bruléed bananas. Betty bested Bailey, boasting bewilderingly bittersweet breadfruit bars. Bree bandaged Bailey's burned bicep by beautifully bending butterfly bandages. 😊💕

  • Absolutely hysterical. "Top Chef" & "The Great British Bakeoff" meet Dick Dastardly in "Survivor". Wonderful back of the scenes romp where every line is a scene unto itself. Reminds me of the children's book, "The Eleventh Hour". I'm not sure why other than that every line within itself contains so much fun to unpack.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful job. Well done, indeed.

  • Testabout a year ago

    I think there are no B's left! Haha. Nice and incredibly well composed, but I will forever wonder how Baily got a burned bicep - Anneliese

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Nice 👍 You are an expert at this tautogram poetry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.