Poets logo

Baggy Skin

Where have I gone...

By Fiona De StefanisPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I don’t know how to be me.

My new skin is baggy. It doesn’t fit me. I want to jump out of it and go back to my old skin. I want to go back to the old me.

I have crawled out of the rabbit hole. But now at the top the light is too bright. The space is too open. I had grown strangely fond of the dark and confined space. Can I slip back in without anyone noticing? Can I survive living in the shadows?

My confidence has gone. I don’t how to be…me. I use to laugh. I use to know what to say. Now I bumble. I stumble.

I have been judged and I have been hurt. By those that I called close. I now protect.

I am tired of thinking. I am tired of trying to fit in. How do you make it look easy? How do you glide through life? I watch people evolve. I watch people achieve. But I trip over my own skin.

I know who I use to be. I know what I use to like doing. But that is gone. It is now all different. How do I live in my new ordinary?

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Fiona De Stefanis

I've heard that a good writer will share stories about what they know. So this is me sharing my stories, about what I know. I am not sure whether I am a good writer, however this is me just giving a new thing a go in life...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.