Poets logo

You were once my friend

Please come back to me...

By Fiona De StefanisPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Why do you escape me at night?

Why do you haunt me by day?

Without you limbs are heavy, mind is foggy.

Without you emotions are heightened, pains are deeper.

How long can you run?

How long can I chase?

You use to be my friend.

You use to bring me fairy tales and joy.

My body craves you.

My mind curses you.

It shouldn’t be this hard.

It shouldn’t dictate all.

I’m tired.

I’m hurting.

Please come back to me.

Please be my friend again.

1am. 2am.

4am.

Sleep.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Fiona De Stefanis

I've heard that a good writer will share stories about what they know. So this is me sharing my stories, about what I know. I am not sure whether I am a good writer, however this is me just giving a new thing a go in life...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.