Poets logo

Bad news Good news

poetry

By kd HoccanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Bad news Good news
Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

Bad News Good News

I was at a camp in the country,

you were home in the city,

and bad news had come to you.

You texted me as I sat

with others around a campfire.

It had been a test you and I

hadn’t taken seriously,

hadn’t worried about.

You texted the bad news word

cancer. I read it in that circle

around the fire. There was

singing and laughter to my right and left

and there was that word on the screen.

I tried to text back but,

as often happened in that county,

my reply would not send, so I went to higher ground.

I stood on a hill above the river and sent you

the most beautiful words I could manage,

put them together, each following each. Under

Ursa Major, Polaris, Cassiopeia, a space station flashing,

I said what had been said

many times, important times, foolish times:

those words soft-bodied humans say when the news is bad.

The I love you we wrap around our

need and hurl at the cosmos: Take this, you heartless

nothing and everything, take this.

I chose words to fling into the dark toward you

while the gray-robed coyote came out of hiding

and the badger wandered the unlit hill

and the lark rested herself in tall grasses;

I sent the most necessary syllables

we have, after all this time the ones we want to hear:

I said Home, I said Love, I said Tomorrow.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

kd Hoccane

creative writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.