Poets logo

Bad Habits

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
7
"The Monk's Repast" by Walter Dendy Sadler (1854-1923)

Most carnal pleasures are forbidden me

My bed is cold and lonely as a tomb

Never will I a naked maiden see

Nor see my son spring from her fertile womb

But food and drink I can enjoy with glee

In vino veritas: in wine there's truth

From its license, only a fool would flee

To save his secrets for confession's booth

Wine, we believe, can become blood divine

And Our Lord made it of wedding water

If I could make of rain a claret fine

I'd have no time to wish I had a daughter

I have no way to work a miracle

To wine I can pay tribute lyrical

Ekphrastic
7

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel S16 days ago

    Once again! Beautifully written with thought-instilling phrases.

  • "But food and drink I can enjoy with glee". That line is the story of my life hehehehe. Loved your poem!

  • Well done.

  • Another great one! There's something incredibly haunting about a bed being as lonely as a tomb. There's only space for one. Beautiful poem!

  • Skyler Saunders17 days ago

    As ravishing as a full, excellent meal, this poem offers a platter of greatness with wine and good fortune. It brings together the thoughts of creating goodness. As it drips with an abundance of imagery, this makes for a delicious offering that sates tastes and makes the mind want more and more.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.