Poets logo

Back then

When I was Young

By Hira K.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Back then
Photo by Tong Nguyen van on Unsplash

I see myself so muddled

The reflection, once, so clear,

now gone. They say, oh you've grown

so much. But they never ask,

at what cost

.

Those neon days were heartfelt

Filled with orange, yellow and kryptonite

My dreams brought on dragons and

castles. Where I was my very own Knight

.

When weapons weren't gazes or words

The world molded at my own whim

When my mouth felt enough to blow the

demon, with my spoon enough to slay its kin

.

So good were those days, that time when I

could be so much. The cage of reality still lay

so far ahead. Where my 'I' was enough to

be loved.

.

An officer, a crown, a bird,

flying whirlpools-- feeling so free

When my physique, clothes had little to do

with what I'd think of me

.

And those eyes that followed afoot

They were a little kind back then

Today they stifle voices with rights

with lawless labels that never make sense

.

The valor was in truth, then

when speaking right meant praise

Where you were you, she or him

No gender in gender to degrade

.

So good were those days,

But now has changed a lot to much

Laughter was so easy back then

Less to mock, but more to love

.

Those curtains that stayed were a bliss

Showing sunshine bequeath a storm

My smile was genuine and who I was then,

Today, is who I still long for.

.

_______________________________________________

*If you liked the poem, then please do leave a like! All feedback, shares and likes are appreciated. They keep me motivated.*

All the best.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Hira K.

Windchimes. Palettes. Sky.

A writer finding her voice on screen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Hira K.Written by Hira K.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.