Poets logo

Baby

Inspired by Poppy's Prompts: January Edition

By sleepy draftsPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
20
Baby
Photo by Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

You wouldn't call me baby

and I told myself I was alright with that

because you didn't call me bitch, either.

.

One-half of my twenties has been spent

recovering

from the other half,

unpacking the selves I learned

to keep nested away -

the twenty-two-year-old who was scared to speak up,

the teenager who never got to rebel,

the little one who's looking for someone to melt into...

Babushka doll babies.

.

I call them by their names

and introduce them to one another.

.

They duck back into themselves

the safe place inside

where they can't be accosted

or ignored.

.

A man called home calls me, Baby

and they all come running out at once.

.

Thank you, Poppy, for this prompt!

Mental Health
20

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Harbor Benassa3 months ago

    This really packed a punch! I love how everything came together so well at the end.

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Amazing poem!! "unpacking the selves I learned to keep nested away" That's my favourite part. I also love the way the poem views the smallest babushka dolls. And that ending was extroardinarily linked in and built up to. Such a satisfying, uplifting finish!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Ahh, the power of words. Love the cleverness of the ending. Well done!

  • Awww, this was soooo wholesome and heartwarming! So optimistic and full of hope! It was like receiving a warm hug! I loved it!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done

  • Loved this… clever use of the babushka doll prompt.

  • Kodah4 months ago

    Beautiful rhythm! Loved this piece💗

  • A wonderful flow of words

  • A beautiful piece. I love how you acknowledge the different parts of yourself in this poem. We are made of so many different parts that we sometimes forget about.

  • Test4 months ago

    There is so much here and so beautifully crafted. I love the transition of seeking shelter into the hope of the last lines. Stunning 🤍

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Such a relatable, emotional piece. Well done.

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    I love the turn in thought as that ending approaches and it feels like such a release of joy :) This was wonderfully done.

  • This was so good. You packed a ton of feeling into this small poem. It's one of my favorites I've read in this challenge

  • Anna 4 months ago

    I love it! Incredible thoughts!❤️🫶

  • Naomi Gold4 months ago

    This is the kind of poetry I aspire to write. An abundance of meaning in a few lines. I think we’re all babushka dolls with fragmented parts of the psyche we’ve hidden away out of necessity. To feel so at home with someone that no part of you is lost is the most beautiful thing.

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    I think this poem just healed a part of me 🥹

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.