Poets logo

Another Year

By sleepy draftsPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
44
Another Year
Photo by Cherry Laithang on Unsplash

Believe it or not, it's here:

Cold and clamouring winter sunlight and

Dry knuckles that bleed.

Evenings that start at 4 in the afternoon and

Forests shocked white.

Great things take time and

Here it is.

I count the dusks;

Justify

Keeping the Christmas lights in my window up a

Little bit longer.

Months of night, pinpricked by

Neighbourhood decorations,

Open living room windows and industry bulb lamps,

Paper lanterns outside the sushi restaurant on the corner of main...

Quiet lives, living

Restlessly.

Slowly waiting for

The months to slip by and the

Undergrowth to return. For

Violets to spring and for

Winter to fade.

Xeranthemums on the horizon.

You start to soak up the twilight, moonlight, lamplight: the

Zest that is ice before it thaws.

nature poetry
44

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story, not sure how I missed this!

  • Raymond G. Taylor3 months ago

    Beautiful and conjured up the winter chill and thrill so well. Congratulations on your TS and thank you for sharing so delightful an image of winter and the prospect of a delightful thaw.

  • PK Colleran4 months ago

    Oh, I love the way this flows, from winter to spring 🌱🌼. Creative use of the alphabet. Another year. Here it is. Congratulations on Top Story.

  • Great Top Story! “ Evenings that start at 4 in the afternoon and Forests shocked white.” Ice and snow etc are treats which I’ve only had a chance to enjoy a handful of times in my life! I’m currently enjoying a mild summer Down Under! Enjoying visits to the coast and ocean swims.

  • Awesome poem! I love the image of "cold and clamouring winter sunlight". Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Well now...it's good to see you Em and glad to see what you do best...writing some of the most beautiful poetry ever. Congrats on a thoroughly-well-deserved Top Story! Hope you're well and 2024 is off to a good start for you!

  • Heyyyy Em! I came back here to congratulate you on your Top Story and imagine my surprise to see that my comment is missing! Before I tell you what I commented, I wanna say congratulations! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊 So this was what I said in my comment. It was something along the lines of: Heyyy Em, I've missed you! So happy to see your poem! It was soooo beautifully penned and I'm in love with it! I have two questions though. First is, would this still be considered an Abecedarian if the letter A is in your title and your poem starts with B? I'm only asking because I don't want you to be disqualified. I hope you're not offended 🥺 Second, how did you manage to publish this without a subtitle? That's awesomeeee!

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Wow, every single line of this is utterly perfect

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Wonder sights and pictures so great. Each season has beauty in it's own right. Congrats TS.

  • Test4 months ago

    Excellent effort! Keep up the superb work—congrats!s

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Lovely Abecedarian poem!!! ❤️❤️💕Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    Great abecedarian!! Congrats!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Well done on T.S., very much deserved!

  • Wow, this is so good, pulled right where you wanted us. Congratulations on the top story

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    Congratulations!! Lovely entry.

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    This was beautifully written Em! So nice to see you. :) I've missed you on here...

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    A perfect poem for what the the weather is like lately. The Christmas light give Christmas a warm feeling. I love the imagery in this poem. 🥰

  • Oneg In The Arctic4 months ago

    This is written so beautifully and it flows so easily I didn’t even realize it’s an Abcderian poem 😯

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Cool thoughts, literally. Wonderful work! Happy New Year to ya, Em. Nice to see you pop up in notifications.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is beautiful, Em. Nice to see you back in the fold.

  • So good to have you back with these wonderful words

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Beautifully done, very descriptive with a clear story line. Congratulations

  • Naomi Gold4 months ago

    This is so beautiful, and flowed so naturally that I didn’t notice it was an abecedarian until the end. Very clever to make the title the first line. I’m a Minnesotan who loves winter (I think you’re Canadian?). The more brutally cold and snowy, the better. I loved that this wasn’t exactly singing winter’s praises, but wasn’t entirely denouncing it either. The anticipation of that undergrowth returning is real, and anticipation makes life worth living. We’d all be in trouble with nothing to look forward to. ‘Quiet lives, living Restlessly’ was my favorite part. A perfect dichotomy in three words.

  • D. J. Reddall4 months ago

    "Forests shocked white" is a lapidary line.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.