Poets logo

Baby It's MeToo

Did I mention I loathe this song?

By Meredith HarmonPublished 11 days ago 2 min read
I have GOT to get this parody out of my system!

I really can't stay

Oh gawd it's this song

I've got to go away

Lady, you've got me all wrong

This evening has been

Just your opinion

So very nice

Please leave, don't ask me twice

My mother will start to worry

Well then better leave in a hurry

My father will be pacing the floor

Blood pressure starting to soar?

So, really I'd better scurry

Before the snow makes roads blurry

But maybe just a half a drink more

No way, I'll just show you the door

The neighbors might think

Well, they might be right

Say, what's in this drink?

Water, please don't fish for a fight

I wish I knew how

Such heavy hinting, wow

To break this spell

Insinuation doesn't go over well

I ought to say, "No, no, no sir"

It just gets grosser and grosser

At least I'm gonna say that I tried

Maybe I can fake that I died

I really can't stay

Then please go away

Baby, it's cold outside

Ugh, you're very pushy, you know?

As long as it gets you out the door!

I simply must go

I won't hold you back

The answer is, "No"

Here's your hat and your mack

The welcome has been

Overstayed and done in?

So nice and warm

Definitely losing your charm

My sister will be suspicious

My words are less judicious

My brother will be there at the door

Can he drag you off of the floor?

My maiden aunt's mind is vicious

And more than a bit malicious

But maybe just cigarette more

Getting you to leave is a chore

I've got to get home

Not too self-aware

Say, lend me your comb?

Your plans are laid bare

You've really been grand

This delay I can't stand

But don't you see?

I wonder if I can flee

There's bound to be talk tomorrow

My escape will be so narrow

At least there will be plenty implied

Take your internal argument outside!

I really can't stay

Good, can you leave now?

So what if it's cold

So there's some snow outside

Okay, fine, just another drink

It's. Just. Water. Please, get out, go away, okay? Bye now! See ya! Don't come back!!

social commentary

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sweileh 88811 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more.

Meredith HarmonWritten by Meredith Harmon

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.