Poets logo

Away

approximations of an autobiography

By Arsh K.SPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am not a name

The person that I was

perished with the dreams

that held him together

Though I still remember them.

I am not a voice

Too many have

spoken through me

For me to call, one among them

My own

My memories are old leaves

I cast into the fires I see

Just in case

They may burn a little brighter

I am not a body

For hunger, pain and thirst

Are real only in a world

With water, comfort and food

Other bodies, apart from mine

Which I must still mind

If I am to sustain this one

I am not a soul

For in fear I may waver

From what I believe to be true

And in any case,

The One that was my soul

Has shattered into many

They prick uncomfortably,

The pieces, like a seashell

You may step on

While walking along a beach

The tide are waves of voices

They wash over my thoughts

Which trace a line along the horizon

It passes through moments

Which I identify as poignant

Before the weight of living

Draws me back

To work, home and hearth.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.