Poets logo

Autumn Eulogy

By AnastasiaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Autumn Eulogy
Photo by Yukon Haughton on Unsplash

I can see it

Just as the day I arrived

November leaves decorating freshly dug soil

Fluttering down onto a tombstone

From bright and vivid

To crumbling and dead

Someday I’ll die

The thought is so strange to have in my skull

Wrapped around a case of pink fleshy synapses

Everyone dies

I see it around me

From behind tempered glass and blurry corneas

“I’m sorry’s from a chapped and dull mouth

To every lover of a lifeless corpse

Dressed in silk and lace

Skin so pale it glows with false rejuvenation

When I die

I want to be buried in rosewood

My coffin filled with petals and bluebell skeletons

So that when I am unearthed

I am covered in the rancid stink of rot

That is not just my own

Larvae birthed in my hollow womb

Giving life to the cycle of death

When you die

I will not be far

Whether I am young or old

I don’t think I could take

Thinking about your beautiful corpse

All alone, in the desolate dirt

Decaying

Deteriorating

Destroyed

By undeserving maggots and writhing scum

Feasting on glorious flesh

Never to know how precious it once was

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Anastasia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.