Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

autophobe

.

By JPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
6
Julia A. Rich - title unknown

All I fear

Is fear

Itself

Of self

My self

-induced

-destruction

-sabotage

-flagellation

-harm.

Old bad habits

People

We repeat them with

The ones we replace

Replicate

To remind us who we've been

Who we've lost,

or tried to.

Ones we let get in the way

Familiarity is to complacency as apathy is to atrophy

is to entropy which is

≥ codependency which =

fear of coming home,

going out,

picking up;

what happens if we don't.

Broken telephone

Promises

Dishes

Bones

Cycles

Fear of falling towers

& triple edged swords.

Fear of change

Fear of the unknown

Fear of sleep;

of waking

Alone

At all

Or worse,

next to someone else

As someone else

You don't scare me.

Me, my own worst nightmare

Me, who deserves better.

I know you are,

but what am I?

We

Bounce back and stick together

to figure it out

In separate rooms

surreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessMental HealthFree VerseCONTENT WARNINGheartbreaksad poetrylove poems
6

About the Creator

J

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Not me thinking flagellation meant moving using a flagella, lol. I'm so glad I Googled it just to be sure. So I learnt a new word today. Your poem was so poignant and intense. I loved it!

  • Hannah E. Aaronabout a year ago

    This is such a powerful piece! The use of lists truly helped me feel a sort of anxious spiral of thoughts and made this poem hit hard for me. Thank you for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.