Poets logo

August 2017

When everything was wonderful

By Joni ÉcritPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
August 2017
Photo by Murray Campbell on Unsplash

The carpet that matched the wallpaper in the halls of that run-down inn was only unappealing in hindsight. But then, it was beautiful.

The arguments heard with every turn in those walls so paper-thin seemed so exciting and dramatic. And it was beautiful.

The head on my shoulders too heavy. I walked so, so slowly. Not much later I felt I was on my way to feeling overwhelmingly at peace, or at least mildly, somehow okay.

The sky was clear and bright, and I stayed outside all the time... there was music faintly playing such as a wind chime in the background.

Uncertain of what happened between then and now, yet I'll always remember when, and how happy I thought I was gonna be in August 2017.

I will not cry tonight just because I was smiling yesterday. The memory may not be enough for me.

From now until the end, myself and my absent friend will make our way back to the days that made our hearts sing and dance to the wind.

Oh, the cool breeze calling from beyond the city and the Inn... the mountains and the trees running and wheezing to the place where we could breathe.

Take a moment and remember what was and what could be while trying to live in the present. What was could be again? On that, the August of 2017.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.