Poets logo

On the brink

Stream of Consciousness Poem - inspiration, motivation!

By Paul StewartPublished about a month ago 2 min read
On the brink
Photo by Vlad Shapochnikov on Unsplash

As I stand, stand, stand on the brink of

somewhere between full throttle breakneck disaster

and bust-erecting full potential breaching success

I look to the cloud-covered skies for guidance

guidance and direction, motivation and creative

yes, creative inspiration, but alas, the waters

had run dry, so I looked to the green of the land

the land, though lush and dense with forest

forest, wood, ben and brae

gave me no hearty words, no linguistic flurry of glorious proportions

So, I looked inward, past sinew, bone, flesh and beyond phallic structures

to the very soul of me

is that not the joy of the ink to parchment art?

to bare one's soul, as an open exhibition?

the fanciful, the fury

the failure, the fortune

for all to prick, prod, probe and excavate for priceless nuggets

of gold from my dripping synapses

for as long as my heart pumps blood through my veins to my arteries and well, everywhere

and my lungs inhale and exhale the life-essential oxygen

the words will come forth from my hands to your eyes

read them, mark them, bookmark them

posterise them and celebrate them

vilify and venerate them

herald them and scowl at them

despised or loved

derided and detested

adored and respected

does it all feel the same?

influence, inspiration, indelible mark on all creation

what's my station, what's my station?

wide-mouthed celebratory elation, wide-eyed dilation

what's my vocation, what's my vocation?

guilty as charged officer, for not giving a crap

no time for deliberation, procrastination

guilty, judge, the man is guilty, gavel tap tap

this is a gentle reminder, for anyone, who needs it

a full-force call-to-action, plea for something; it

the foundations won't rock, shiver and rumble

if we don't make a mess

the pillars won't drop, crumble to rubble,

if we don't cause some stress

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Two SoC poems that felt better together. Could be considered part of an unofficial collection that includes "Venit Vidit Vicit", "Paint Me!" and "too damn sloppy", links below. Inspiration, motivation - take from it what you want or just celebrate/comdemn the audacity of it all!

Here are some other things:

Free Versesurreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirationalart

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶about a month ago

    Love the frenetic pace of this… I just hope you don’t explode!😳 Really like: ‘ I look to the cloud-covered skies for guidance… so I looked to the green of the land… So, I looked inward, past sinew, bone, flesh and beyond phallic structures to the very soul of me…’

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    Intriguing work Paul!! 😊👍

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    "guilty as charged officer, for not giving a crap" I loved this line the most hehehehehe. This was an awesomeeee Paulitical poem! 🍩🥐

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    Brilliant, Sir! The repition wasa great touch, and the message is both clear and important. Take a bow!

  • Gabriel Huizengaabout a month ago

    This is EPIC - feels like an anthem! I could feel the music swelling with it as I read along; really great work Paul!!

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about a month ago

    NICE!

  • Heather Hublerabout a month ago

    Fantastic SOC! And I love the word, sinew, so that was a sprinkle of happy in there :)

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    You are a true original, Paul. Scottish lyricism harnessing Italian passion. This was an absolute joy to read!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Really struck by the repeated phrases “what’s my station?” and “what’s my vocation?” As usual, you’ve created a well crafted vessel for sailing the stream!

  • Stream of consciousness is a great way to let things out, always think taraNtula is a great example. Excellent work Paul

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.