Poets logo

Athena’s Owl

Save My Evergreen

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo from Louvre Museum (CC BY 3.0) via Wikimedia Commons

O Athena my goddess of wisdom

I beseech you to help your humble bird

My branch on which I stand when your hand or

Shoulder is engaged is in grave danger

Please save my evergreen from certain death

My wings have revealed to my eyes a most

Troubling plot to offer Hades my tree

My home since I was born for your service

Will grow down to everlasting cinders

Serving no one nothing worth repeating

Hades my dear uncle please afford me

One little favour not for me I swear

Spare a tree for my devoted left-hand

My loyal owl’s birthplace and current home

I will return the favour one blue day

Methinks my good turn is in need of your

Speedy response my dear and winning niece

A mortal shall become your first husband

Your love whom I will summon one black day

To join me as my minion in Hades

My uncle your price is unbecoming

I wish to deliver one precious life

Growing in all splendour and my owl’s place

Please reconsider your meaning my liege

An earthly groom is a high price to pay

Niece this is my sole and only demand

Accept it or leave it the tree is mine

What say you now I have no more spare time

You can choose by tomorrow nightfall your

Mortal lover my soon to be henchman

Can I equate a tree with human life

Can my owl stand on a similar perch

Can I unearth a mortal to love me

By the rooster’s last call to dark prayer

Can I love a man whose life I dispense

My dearest goddess Athena take me

I will gladly become your sacrifice

I loved you since my heart opened wisely

In view of your beauty and your finesse

To love you for one day is worth my life

Pray tell your name my adoring mortal

Your life is not a gift to give away

I will ask my dear father for his help

Zeus can reason with his starless brother

A tree and a man will be saved today

Dear Zeus my father and god of the world

Help me save my future husband and a

Tree from the fury and fiery embrace

Of Hades your brother from underground

Where he counts poor souls every single day

Zeus had some words with Hades his brother

The owl’s evergreen was solemnly saved

Athena took me in for her husband

My life has become pure heavenly bliss

I thank you Zeus my god for her wisdom

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.