Poets logo

At One Time I Was Five Feet, Seven and One Half Inches!

Yesterday I measured in at 5' x 4 & 3/4"!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
At One Time I Was Five Feet, Seven and One Half Inches!
Photo by National Library of Medicine on Unsplash

Because I was going to weigh, I took off my shoes, coat, and sweatshirt and hung up my purse. I weighed more than I thought. Especially considering I shrunk again!

It is easy to see now how the author came up with the Incredible Shrinking Man storyline. I wonder how much people shrink. Good thing I can see that my husband is also shrinking. We both have back issues. Is this why? Our spinal column is collapsing.

Someone said it is gravity, and then added that a heavier weight can bring it down faster. Why didn't he just say because you are fat/overweight, it can cause loss of height and back trouble?

Shrinking women

shrinking men

why did it happen to me

I liked my height you see

it gave me an important stature

taller people are given more power

it is because they are tall

right out of college, I was all

grateful to be offered director

a position I wasn't interested in, or

I had something else in mind

I had several positions of that kind

over time. Was it my height?

I prefer to believe it was my foresight.

For FunStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryhumorFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Superbly written!!! I don't like shrinking. People do judge others by their height, it's not right, but it does happen! Sending virtual hugs!!!♥️♥️💕

  • People do tend to shrink as they get older. But then again, height is just a number! So don't think about it too much. Loved your poem!

  • Judey Kalchik 3 months ago

    The incredible shrinking Denise may just indicate that you are concentrating your powers!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.