Poets logo

Are you serious?

Oh...you are! Abecedarian.

By Paul StewartPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
20
ChatGPT did what I told it...sorta...with mixed results, creating this image.

are you serious?

blimey, you are

can't make this up

deceptive and manipulative

enabling malnutrition and suffering

ferociously elitist

grotesquely classist

how do you sleep at night?

in luxury, of course

just, don't think too hard

kids whose mum's can't eat and heat their home

life's a bed of nails, for them

money's tight, for them

not their fault, system rotten

opulence all around you

privilege and opportunity

quit suggesting you care

reality has set on us all

society crumbling

traditional values

underminded and undervalued

venison tonight?

wash it down with bubbly?

xyster to our bones

you scourge us at your

zenith

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Another entry into the Abecedarian challenge, which you can find out more about below:

It's not a happy one, granted. I aint apologising for that.

Here are a few more, including a quite positive one:

heartbreaksurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryinspirational
20

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    “How do you sleep at night?..In Luxury of course!” 🙂👏👏 A nice abecedarian entry!

  • Gina C.3 months ago

    Awesome abecedarian, my friend! You're raw and genius as always. I had to look up "xyster"! ☺️

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I quite like venison 🤔 Haven't had it in years though!

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Lol you should have seen my face when I looked up "xyster." 😮 "xyster to our bones you scourge us at your zenith" --That is absolutely scathing!! This is a great one, pal. Every line is like a razor blade. I can feel the wrath, the righteous anger. It's harness with perfect clarity. Can't say I've ever written an angry or severe poem like this; I imagine you have to be particularly emotional (in a good way) to achieve such a pinpointed message as you have done here. Smashing work! This is an abecedarian that I will use as reference for mine. Why? Because the line breaks are so effortless. I want mine to have that feeling too, not a shoehorned air about it, like I feel it would have. Bravo! Now I'm curious what liars you had in mind... (I read some comments before leaving mine, lol)

  • "ferociously elitist grotesquely classist" I loved these two lines the most! And oooo, xyster, never heard of that word before! It's like oyster but with an X! Also, I may be wrong, but for V, did you mean venison? You did a brilliant job with this Abecedarian! I loved it!

  • Ace Melee3 months ago

    Technically, what it feels like to have a conversation with a liar.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Oh yeah! Tell 'em, Buddy!

  • Quite the enjoyable flow-of-consciousness tirade, lol!

  • Jess Boyes3 months ago

    I love this so much, very powerful.

  • Wow!! Excellent right to its finish... "xyster to our bones you scourge us at your zenith" (had to google xyster!)... learnt a few new things today and it's not even 7:30 am!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Boom! Have that! I was waiting for this to drop and here it is in all its damning glory.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad3 months ago

    I didn’t even realize that this was an abecedarian poem at first. It’s bitter but on point and well done. It reminds me of when Jeff Bezos bragged that he had more money than he knew what to do with—and yet he won’t do anything good with it. You’ve just made me angry about it all over again, so I guess your job is done.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    2 for 2, pal! Another contender, with some attitude, like my first. I did a second one, too, only gentler.

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    This is powerful. I'm struggling with my first ABC poem.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I mean, say what's on your mind Paul... You said it well, nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.