Poets logo

Are You Being Kind to Yourself?

Have You Considered Prioritizing Your Own Well-being?

By Emily Chan - Life and love sharingPublished 24 days ago 2 min read
2
Are You Being Kind to Yourself?
Photo by Copper and Wild on Unsplash

I have learned that I am not able to deal with myself and I need to change that. Previously, the majority of the time I gave more importance to other's others and ended up feeling unappreciated. However, I have now realized that continually putting others before myself has brought about my own self-neglect.

Living is not a stroll in the park; there are different needs and difficulties, just as they are for every single person. It is necessary not to base on others' evaluations and to not think that others have to meet all their needs.

It can be traced back to the basic fact that every one of us walks our own path, and failure and success are not the point, it is whether this process is meaningful. There are times when everything appears to be overawing, yet in the morning we have to find something that will allow us to move on with our lives.

Life is a harsh nightmare. Generating money, especially in a country where there are plenty of obstacles, is a hard nut to crack, and we feel drained. These two years have taught us not only to comfort ourselves but also to take the disappointments gracefully.

I've realized, though, that I've been too preoccupied with catering to others' wants and sorrows and thus, paying no heed to self-love and care.

Life can be uncertain, and just the way it is, might not be the way we might have planned it. Over the course of time, we realize we have far fewer things we can do on our hands.

I believed that reciprocity was the way we got kindness from others, but have discovered that leading by example to myself is the door to inner growth I strive for.

The real challenge remains from within our minds where our consistently repeated thoughts, fixations, and unfulfilled expectations reside. Healing starts by letting go of all the burdens that we have been holding.

Our parting is not about losing joy but facing enough hurts in our hearts.

Perhaps the most agonizing moments are torn apart by secluded whispers, Teardrops are not just for crying but also portray a deeper sense of emotional distress, hence, allowing us to communicate things others may miss.

I would like to say sorry to myself because I did not give happiness and well-being to myself much attention. The next step we should take is to arrange our activities in accordance with self-care and self-love principles.

Thank you for reading!

Mental Healthinspirationalhow toGratitudefact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Blog Writer/Storyteller/Write stores and short srories.I am a writer who specializes in love,relationships and life sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake23 days ago

    Thanks for sharing.

  • I always try my best to be kind and gentle to myself

  • Margaret Brennan24 days ago

    thank you so much for writing this. I had a decision to make and you helped me chose the right one. I was gifted with a ticket to a 5 day cruise with 10 of my girlfriends and hesitated accepting it because I didn't want to leave my husband for a week. I've never been anywhere without him and I just turned 77 years old. Guess what? I am going!! thank you again for showing me I can make myself happy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.