Poets logo

April 18, 2017

Poem 17 from my chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"

By Michael ButorovichPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1

I gave Orlando a small reading in

The last few minutes I had on break.

“I feel your poems are so relatable”

He commented once I finished.

{

For me it is hard to respond to such

A statement because I’m doing as I

Feel and writing as I can.

It’s good to know someone finds my

Work substantial and accessible.

It is part of my goal and to achieve

It in a tiny way is almost surreal.

{

I never know what I’ll be composing

Come the next round.

I can’t just pull a stick out of my

Ass and call it a tree.

{

I sincerely sit here and let it hit

Me like a spark which ignites a flame.

{

In the meantime, music is on

And the only thing left to do is

Think and seek out some substance.

Once it’s time to react

Then burning is the only action

Left until the moment returns again.

{

Sometimes I feel as if I’ll never

Combust one last time.

There are minutes where it seems

As though all is spent and the

Embers glowing will turn to ashes

By the stroke of the breeze.

I’ll give up and remain silent.

I’ll rest and try to stay still.

{

But once I’m awake I’m going.

{

There is nothing else but to

Pursue the dream.

{

The dream is only something we

Project in our mind.'

{

To be realistic we need to be

Real with ourselves.

{

Then do as we must

To get to where we want to be

}

Filter to April 20, 2017

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.