Poets logo

apologies

*

By Heather HublerPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
18
Created with NightCafeStudio

*

my apologies.

i'm sorry i can't protect you better,

that you get your hopes up

only to be beaten and bruised

day in and day out.

i'm ashamed that the wall i built

to guard you

crumbles so easily to dust.

it's been dismantled too many times,

rebuilt with ashy bricks

that can't withstand this roller coaster life.

you give it all away,

you feel it all within,

and yet, i cannot keep you safe.

for that, i am sorry.

dear heart, i wish i could do better,

but that other shoe...

it always drops.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading! Apologies to all my readers and fellow creators that I haven't been able to respond to or support lately.

sad poetryheartbreak
18

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Marie Concannon9 months ago

    Gorgeous, Heather! I relate to this entirely. I know my mother feels this way for her children. Don't worry about responding, Heather! You give so much support to everyone.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Who's the arsehole who read this, liked it and then forgot to comment on it? Yours truly! This was very sad, but written so wonderfully. You always impress me with that! Sorry things are tough for you at the moment - hope they improve soon!

  • I felt this one deep in my bones. I always ask myself why the walls I built around my heart crumble so easily. I still don't know the answer. Loved your poem my looney partner! Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Honest and raw, beautiful yet poignant. I can relate to the sentiment on many levels. Lean on me, my friend.

  • Test9 months ago

    I feel you on this one. Sometimes when our hearts are on the fritz we have to lean on our dignity. My heart goes out to you. Beautiful piece.

  • That's what I do when I can only find one shoe--wait for the other one to drop! Seriously, Heather, this one weighs heavily upon my heart. Oh, that we could protect them always. But we can't.

  • Kenny Penn9 months ago

    Heartbreaking and relatable, terrific writing

  • Sending hugs and support, glad to see you writing ❤️❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Sending up prayers! Hope things improve for you soon. Take care sweet Heather.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Heartfelt & heartbreaking!!! Do take care of yourself!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    Sad. can relate

  • Test9 months ago

    Sad, heartbreaking... a heartfelt write💙Anneliese

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Oh my God. Don't you dare.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    This was heartbreaking ❤️‍🩹

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    this is beautifully written, though heartbreaking, it's relatable. I really like the AI image you were able to generate for this as well. Nice work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.