Poets logo

Anxiety

Something I live with daily... and this is how the disorder affects me.

By Anna MillerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

It's like ice flowing through my veins,

Reaching even my fingertips,

Both palms cold and clammy,

Because my blood is rushing to leave to surface,

Hiding deeper inside,

Leaving me pale and shaky.

My heart stuck between racing,

And not beating at all.

My mind is in chaos,

Unable to differentiate friend from foe,

Flooded with the irrational need to run,

To get away from a nonexistent threat.

My breathing quickening,

As if my lungs were convinced I'm already running.

My stomach in knots,

And lurching up my throat,

As if to get away from my frozen figure.

But there's no possible way to shed my insecurities,

As much a part of me as my own bones.

With me until the day I cease to exist.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Miller

I am a twenty one year old aspiring poet with a love for writing stories and keep up various separate journals. I am new to the whole 'professional writing' thing so this is going to be a learning experience!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.