Poets logo

Antichrist

Why are we running in place?

By Anna TorresPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Antichrist
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I slip backwards into the alternating cloud and fog

Between space and time, mind and matter

I can't go forward nor can I retreat

In this nocturnal realm, I can't continue the climb without a ladder

I wish there were salvation to believe in

Anything to hold onto in this abyss

An afterlife I dreamt of for all my life

There's nothing to compare to such as this

I felt the fire I created

I weighed down my guilt in a current of upheaval

I can't outrun the injustice of my beliefs

There is no longer any good beyond this evil

A genie beyond wishful thinking

What's a magic lamp going to change?

A rabbit hole to another beginning

Annihilation at its best, I welcome the death of this game

The jump is pivotal

The fall is sublime

The extended bliss of a silent metropolis

I submit to my never-ending climb

A reality numb to my existence

Ascension into the earth

My body molded into a failed statue

I was last but now I am first

A nightmare sequence

A matrix of my own doing

I brace for the impact into the ground

I hope for it to be fast but it goes by so slowly

I survived my despair

I maneuvered past all barriers

I still sink in the space between the cracks

I needed expulsion from here not a savior

What will propel me into the next step?

What will push me into the final stage?

Severing ties and severing heads

A dream of a future where the weary decay

An execution of high regard

Stuck in an infinite time loop

What will I finish tomorrow that I didn't start today?

Yesterday never arrives too soon

Will we ever promote ourselves?

Will we ever outlive our own ambitions?

A mimic meant to imitate a fraction of our being

When will we complete our mission?

I'm incomplete within this feverish dream

Brittle like paper but unbroken

I envy the entropy of collided worlds

A lot has been said but most words go unspoken

All of my words have gone unspoken

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.