Poets logo

ANOCHE SOÑÉ CONTIGO

Touch is the first language and the last, and it always tells the truth ― Margaret Atwood

By Stephanie GingerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
ANOCHE SOÑÉ CONTIGO
Photo by Tadeusz Lakota on Unsplash

Last night I dreamed of you

stopped on the edge of pine woods

bent over, leaning on your knees.

Your breath hot and deep,

muscles slicked, carved out in relief.

You were laughing with a friend.

I couldn’t see your smile,

shadowed by a scrub of twigs, sharp with resin,

nor hear your words

above the restless vibration of a hundred cicadas,

the snap of a Castilian landscape, tinder-dry,

volatile as touch-paper.

If you had moved towards me

I would have rested my head on your collarbone;

felt your slowing heartbeat through

damp cotton under my palm and

touched the trickle of sweat with my fingertips

travelling the length of your spine.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Stephanie Ginger

Writer, screenwriter, poet, playwright, journalist. I love the drama of life: long, short, on the page or on the screen but always character-driven.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie Ginger (Author)12 months ago

    Thanks Peeps! I really appreciate your support in my writing. 🤗

  • Mackenzie Davis12 months ago

    This needs more reads. It's so gorgeously melancholic. This encapsulates the entire emotion of the poem for me --- "the snap of a Castilian landscape, tinder-dry, | volatile as touch-paper."

  • Tony Baca12 months ago

    Nice poem and cool pic.

  • Rob Angeli12 months ago

    Lovely, I love the tinderbox cracked of your atmosphere.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.