Poets logo

Anniversary

Anniversary

By ruschPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Light Breaking Through

Anniversary - Divorce

I took my dream out yesterday

To see it better in noon Sun’s light

Strange it looked, what could any say

Except nothing like it was, in the still dark night.

The sparks were gone, fairy’s too

And Santa never came to town

Did this mean, I was not a fool

When presents were passed around.

The diamond I got, was really a stone

No glittering here, in this bright light.

And my husband leaving, me, alone

Is not the same, as that fight night.

For then I raged, now I cry

Wondering why, what could I do?

Our love had died, at least mine inside

Leaving me looking, like a gul’ durn fool.

Alone I was, alone I am

Last night... as it is today

The same person, happy, crying under the Sun

Seeing life, in a brand new way.

Ah, it’s that life then... so bad, upside down

Only Moon shining on... reflective side.

Versus the Sun here, shining, so burning round

The real Me allowed, escaping with pride.

Yes, as I dance off singing, into my days

Free to be the Me, that then had died

I smile, and let that dream... now fade away

Knowing better nights dreaming, will guide this bride.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

rusch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.