Poets logo

Anhedonia

The smile is there but it means nothing.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Anhedonia
Photo by davide ragusa on Unsplash

One month ago, it was a joke.

A personality trait lived with and suffered.

Now, it is birthday balloons for a day

That may never arrive again.

Helium draining until the pink and silver shimmers

Roll around on the floor.

Dead.

.

Two months ago it was the boredom of a show

Seen three times before.

The drugs slipping between eager, parted lips

And a high that could wipe away the clouds.

Now, it is a habit.

A routine to keep the little shadows at bay.

To keep the monster silent.

.

Now, it is a horrible machine

And I am stuck in its belly or maybe worse,

Behind the controls.

There is a rhythm in my ears, monotonous.

A sensation on my cheeks, cold and wet.

I have been swallowed by a machine

And the more I scream, the quieter I sound.

.

Now, the numbing gel to my gums

Has crept into my bloodstream,

Infected my veins with a crushing

Anhedonia

That leaves the world in withering shades of grey.

There is a hole in my belly

Where the world used to play.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Patrick H8 months ago

    This is an outstanding piece of work.

  • The more I scream, the quieter I sound. That line hit me so hard. Loved your poem!

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.