Poets logo

An (Orange) Rose By Any Other Name

Smells sweet...but it has its thorns

By Destinee StricklandPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

My brown skin may shimmer in the sun

But my aura is orange

Burnt orange to be exact

I emit ambition and drive

How I approach every task with devotion and zeal

Giving it my all because my perseverance won't let me give up

And just like orange there is so much more to me than meets the eye

I am multifaceted

I am more than just the the color you see on the outside

Peel back my exterior

And dive deep into the creativity inside

Let the waves of my many shades help you wade in my presence

But pay attention

For the hue you see determines what mood you see

From my most muted of Mandarins

To the brightest, brilliant Blaze

Look

I can be as sweet as a Satsuma to anyone around

No matter how they identify

But go ahead...keep biting me if you want

Don't be surprised if you get a taste of something sour in return

I'm not perfect and I know it

There's no need for me to front

I only put on airs because I love my Nikes

So yes, I mess up

But I commend myself for learning from my mistakes

I fail harder to go farther

Put me under pressure and all you get is that juice

That drip

That flava

I guess I'm kind of dope or whatever

Originality is seeping out of me

But that's not all you can squeeze out of me

I pack a more positive punch than the number of protons in existence

I am an orange rose

Exuberantly exuding neon effervescence

Like

If "good vibes only" were a person

Brighter than the sun

"When I close my eyes and see you in my mind, you literally have a golden glow around your face"...type of energy

Because of this

I expect the field around me to be nourished by what the pollinators take away from me and put into the atmosphere

I want to see all of the seeds of wisdom I have sown

May they produce life and an ethereal essence

You know the Orange tree by the fruit it bears

I will continue to grow and produce no matter if other trees give shade

Trying to block my access to the sun, growth, and life

I've learned to retain my water and store my light

So that I can grow even in a drought or during polar night

Still pushing forth branches protruding from my core

I work with the wind to send out songs of awe and reverence

I continue to press forward in the midst of adversity

Acid rain can’t bother me

I filter that out and continue on to water those in need

I'll let my faithfulness speak for itself though

Because I'm loyal to a fault

My ride or dieness is not up for debate

For I know how firm my roots can be planted

Just don't bark up the wrong tree

I'm used to being the only Orange tree in a field of full of Maples

I know I can be awkward

So I know how to stand alone

See, orange is not often a favorite

But even a rainbow would be incomplete without it

I know I don't quite fit in but I'm needed

I'm destined to be different

And it is not one of these things that makes me stand out in a crowd

For if any of these stood alone I wouldn't see that as a big difference

Thus, that wouldn't point out the proper perspective of my personhood

But...it is the totality of these characteristics that defines my existence

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Destinee Strickland

N/A

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.