Poets logo

Am I Snow White?

Being a princess is not all it's crack up to be.

By Destinee StricklandPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3

"All of my friends would say that I treat you like a princess" she yells at me

And that begs the question...

Which one

Snow White

Because her mother figure tried to kill her over something that the mirror said

Magic mirror on the wall

Who shall cause this kingdom's fall

'F'it be me, I'll take no blame at all

So tell me mirror on the wall

But the mirror stares back in silence

Fearing the backlash that it will receive if it reveals the truth

It's quite tragic actually

That

When you look in the mirror you see a reflection of all the things others have done against you

But never the things that you've done against you...

Or

Against others

For that matter

Maybe it's time for you to reflect on some of the things that are hurting you to the point that you can't help but hurt me

You've created a poisonous apple with the venom in your words

Then you tried to force me to consume it

You cuss me out every other day

Saying things that stab me so deeply

That the very thought of removing the blade leaves me bleeding out and left for dead

But I have decided to let the Surgeon take it out so I can heal

I may bleed a little that's what a cauterizing tool is for

So I won't lose too much blood

Then after the knife is removed successfully

And the healing has begun

You turn around and get me gifts

Instead of an apology and changed behavior

Then you just do it all over again

The vicious cycle of hatred keeps going

Is this how a Queen treats the heir to her throne

Grooming her into "royalty"

Well, I've had enough

I'm breaking the curses that you "so charitably bestowed upon me"

And another thing

Of course your friends think you treat me so well

They don't see how you really act towards me

Behind closed doors

Because in public you are on your very best behavior

Trying to live up to the graven image you've molded for them to see

But I refuse to worship it any longer

So don't include me in the facade...in the lie that you conjured up for the people

Because I will end up telling the truth for you

I won't let those on the outside looking in be misled by what the surface shows

I'll help them dig a little deeper to find the truth because...

The best way to drive the darkness away

Is to chase it with the truth

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Destinee Strickland

N/A

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.