Poets logo

An Open Letter to my Parents and to the Person Responsible for Giving me the name Dinosaur.

I've been seeing a therapist and I've got issues.

By F Cade SwansonPublished 23 days ago Updated 22 days ago 2 min read
6
An Open Letter to my Parents and to the Person Responsible for Giving me the name Dinosaur.
Photo by Daniel K Cheung on Unsplash

To the person who named me Dinosaur:

In an effort to address the rage issues

that have prevented me from being a good son or friend

and caused me to be angry at my parents

and attack and devour most sentient beings,

I want you to know

that I have sought out a therapist.

As they are want to do,

my therapist has challenged me to look at myself before blaming others.

So that's what I did:

took a long and difficult look at my reflection in the water.

I started on the outside,

and what I saw made it clear

that my rage problems do not stem from my significant height,

nor my robust weight,

nor my exceptional jawline and teeth,

nor my sparkling eyes and muscular legs.

I am, in fact, quite an impressive beast.

I have, however, begun to accept

that my tiny arms may be the source of my anger,

ridiculous appendages that undermine my otherwise spectacular presence,

their dysfunction requiring me to stomp on my prey

and/or ravenously grab at it with my massive jaws

instead of eating with my hands.

Sure, I understand that this behavior may, in fact,

help build my exceptional legs and masculine chin,

and maybe it's impressive to instill fear in others,

but it is also exactly the kind of outburst I loathe:

stomping and gnashing uncontrollably like a child having a tantrum.

After explaining this to my therapist,

she encouraged me to look deeper.

Through introspection, I have also come to realize

that fear is not the same as respect,

and this childish behavior will not earn me the respect I desire,

the respect I deserve.

I read somewhere that the reason we T-rexes have such small arms

is to prevent accidental or intentional amputation

when a pack of us eat from the same carcass.

Evolution, it would seem,

has addressed our poor table manners

because we have been unable

(or unwilling)

to do so ourselves.

Branded by our stubbornness,

instead of the indomitability we crave,

we are a terrifying joke.

I am a terrifying joke.

"So you blame your parents?"

my therapist asks.

"yes, them, for teaching me to read

but not how to behave."

Pay attention, because this is the part where you come in.

"And I blame whoever named me Dinosaur,"

I tell her,

"and called me Tyrannosaurus Rex."

Because I read somewhere else that dinosaur means monstrous lizard,

and tyrannosaurus rex means tyrant king,

and I feel like that really set me up

to where I have to live into those kinds of names.

And from what I understand,

(and this I also got from reading)

my family tree is closer to the birds than to the lizards.

Not that you'd know that from the way our arms look,

(hardly the majestic wings of our relatives),

or from the way we eat,

(more rapacious than peckish).

Still, I bet we might have turned out differently

I might have turned out differently

had I not had to carry the weight of your expectations,

the ones you put on me with those awful names,

even when you knew I was without the arm strength to carry them.

Signed,

T-Rex

(where the T stands for therapy not tyranny)

Mental HealthStream of ConsciousnesshumorFamily
6

About the Creator

F Cade Swanson

Queer dad from Virginia now living and writing in the Pacific Northwest. Dad poems, sad poems, stories about life. Read more at fcadeswanson.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dr. Jason Benskin10 days ago

    I was deeply moved by your blend of humor and introspection. Your portrayal of the T-Rex grappling with its identity and emotional struggles was both unique and relatable. Your message about self-acceptance and the quest for respect over fear resonated deeply with me. Thank you for sharing such a creative and thought-provoking piece. I look forward to reading more of your work.

  • Lol, this was poignant and humorous at the same time! Such a clever take on the challenge!

  • Rachel Deeming22 days ago

    Funny. I liked the way it started out more darkly and then became more whimsical towards the end.

  • Shirley Belk22 days ago

    So funny and scientific at the same time! Brilliant

  • Andrea Corwin 22 days ago

    Holy crapola, this is so very clever and different - what a great poem for the challenge!! I loved it💕❣️❣️

  • F Cade, this is charming, funny, creative, and a wonderful entry for the dinosaur challenge. I'm rooting for you! Can you see me waving my long, human, arms?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.