Poets logo

An Olive Branch From Mom

Im Sorry

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
An Olive Branch From Mom
Photo by Colin Maynard on Unsplash

The joy of being a mom meant everything to me.

Looking at you the moment you were born was pure beauty.

Looking back, you grew quicker than the rest.

You could talk, walk and learn you're very best.

I was dressing you up and taking you places.

We are exploring a world field with beautiful faces.

Yet the one thing I couldn't do for you.

Was prepare you for a place filled with doom and gloom.

For when I became ill, it wasn't easy on you.

A small sweet child who didn't know what to do.

You were told several stories, none that helped you cope.

While I was thinking about you, with so much hope.

That when I was better, life would only be complete.

For you, dear child, so loving and so sweet.

As years went on, you grew so very fast,

I should have known they were not going to last.

I feel bad I wasn't there to protect you.

From hard times you went through.

As you continue to do each day.

The world around us is not good in many ways.

To have watched you struggle, going through hard times.

Wishing I had a billion dimes.

To pay to take away the pain, you have gone through.

As a mom, wishing I only knew.

To this very day.

A guiding light to help you along the way.

As I am getting older, time goes by fast,

Love in my heart for you will forever last.

As for a mom, no guidelines were given to me.

I am so sorry that, as your mom, I could only be.

Better at making life a happier place.

Where happiness and smiles are always on your face.

I have failed in many ways.

An olive branch I give to you for happier days.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.