Poets logo

"Wake Me Up?"

Full Moon

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
"Wake Me Up?"
Photo by Alex Blăjan on Unsplash

Twisting Turning.

My body aches and my mind is burning.

I am fallen into the deepest sleep.

Five, six, seven and eight sheep.

A full moon high above the sky.

Dreams occurring, why oh why?

I feel like I am resting in a forest so green.

Yet it's like being in a show, and it's time to change the scene.

My body cannot relax, as my mind is everywhere.

The moon's energy is beyond compare.

I feel like getting up and taking a jog.

I was wandering around looking for my dog.

Wait, I don't even have a dog or a cat.

Why am I wearing this silly old hat?

Wow, the moon is so bright I don't know how to explain it.

I can't lie down, stand up or even know how to sit.

I guess the beauty of the moon that shines so bright.

Guides me with silly dreams tonight.

When the glimmering light goes away.

Please wake me up to celebrate a fantastic new day.

The moon may bring us joy, and excitement in a very unusual way.

A full moon isn't always doomed and gloom.

So we must not always assume.

By Jongsun Lee on Unsplash

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.