Poets logo

An Ode to Odes

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
1
An Ode to Odes
Photo by Sandy Millar on Unsplash

Who writes an ode to odes?

Who dares to be so bold?

Or is it all just a load

A pile of…

Okay just wrap it up

It’s too dumb

Yes

But it’s oh so much fun

Sure, sure

But that’s so uncreative

You’re so much better than that

Am I though?

What else am I supposed to do?

Nothing is coming with this challenge

Write the list

You know?

The one you’ve put off for an hour

What are you? A coward?

No, just easily distracted from a more serious task

Why do you ask?

Because you came here to focus

Writing isn’t some hocus pocus

Besides, this isn’t even an ode

This can’t be sung

But an ode to odes

Would be so much fun

If it could actually be done

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
1

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    I like it. I really like it. And sure, you could sing it. Perhaps not strophically, but you most certainly could put a tune to it even if it's through-composed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.