Poets logo

An Ode To Furniture

The heart of one’s home

By Erin HensleyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
An Ode To Furniture
Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

I toss

I turn

I think

I blink

Into your warmth

I start to sink

The rain outside

Slides down the panes

I give a yawn

Put down my frames

The heavy press

Of canine head

Confirms that this

Is now my bed

I shift a bit

To set the tone

Reach out to table

Set down my phone

I snuggle deep

In blankets soft

My wayward thoughts

Are sent aloft

My head is rested

On pillowed end

My beloved couch

My dearest friend

I did have plans

And things to do

But here we are

Must follow through

The best of naps

I always find

Occur unplanned

Just spring to mind

I shut my eyes

And drift away

These simple naps

They make my day

love poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    EHWritten by Erin Hensley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.