Poets logo

An Empty Tree at Christmas

Surviving the holidays when you can't let go

By Jack DietzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

My Empty Tree at Christmas, it happens every year

Since my baby left me, all I get are tears.

How can there be a Christmas, how can there be such cheer

I see on people’s happy faces at this time of year.

Can’t they see my heartache; how sad I must appear-

but no one seems to notice me

Not even the man with the big white beard.

There’s Hallmark Christmas Movies, happy endings all

If only my baby saw them perhaps then she would call.

Perhaps she forgot my number-but then she could write

But when I check my mail box, There’s not a card in sight.

How blue will be my Christmas I wish that it was through

When people invite me to parties- I decline and blame the flu.

It doesn’t matter if I’m good all year, now that we are through.

Then why do I have this Christmas tree-I haven’t got a clue.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jack Dietz

Hello

I’m a 68-year-old Vietnam Veteran living in Southern California.

My writing started due to my volunteered to work as a Fire Lookout. I hope you enjoy my stories and will always welcome any feedback at [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.