Poets logo

Why are there rainbows

Messages within colors-are they happy or are they sad.

By Jack DietzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

There is something about Rainbows

How they magically appear.

One is not sure where it started

Or if its end is near.

Yet of all the colors in a rainbow

the color blue caught my eye

Yet I didn’t pay attention, and to this day, I don’t know why?

One day I saw a rainbow.

The blue wasn’t so bright.

That day I got the news that my mother died last night

The next time I looked at a rainbow

Again, the blue made me feel so sad

Then someone came and found me

To tell me my dad was dead.

The next time I saw a rainbow, several years had passed.

I tried not looking- But I had to take a glance.

The blue seems brighter; its brilliance blinded me.

the red streaks in its body was a warning just for me.

The 3 a.m. phone call: My only son had been shot.

The guilt of not heeding the warning-the pain I always got.

For Years, I stop looking-I no longer wanted to see.

Who cares about rainbows or some color meant for me?

Then came a rainbow, the blue so large and bright,

It knew about my cancer- it knew about my plight.

The operation happened, my family was pleased.

But as I was leaving, A rainbow filled the sky.

The blue no longer brilliant A brighter color pushed it aside.

The color black filled my eyes, its message loud and clear.

My days were actually numbered, for my end is almost near.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Jack Dietz

Hello

I’m a 68-year-old Vietnam Veteran living in Southern California.

My writing started due to my volunteered to work as a Fire Lookout. I hope you enjoy my stories and will always welcome any feedback at [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.