Poets logo

An Artist's Palette

Facets of Life

By Cindy CalderPublished 3 years ago 2 min read

An artist’s palette, facets of colors, swirl and define

Creating silhouettes and dimensions in the vein of my life

Distinguishing rivets of character and a myriad of preferences

Along the various pathways of indeterminable heights.

Purest, unadulterated ivory is the color of choice

To distinguish the Mother I am every moment in time

To two precious children who are a gift that only

The purest color may be used to portray how divine.

Both soft and bold colors focus on the music of my soul

Soft pink reflecting the delicacy of Chopin’s nocturnes I adore

While a raging and bright red symbolizes the passion felt

Whenever I listen to Puccini’s thunderous, operatic scores.

Pearlescent white is the color that embodies the art

Of Michelangelo’s array of masterful pieces that exist

Each one fills my heart with a soaring joy that will

Always and forever reside, within me never to desist.

Lavender is the softest of shades I give to the books

Of old literature reread again and again through the years

They never grow old nor do I weary of them for they

Live on the shelves of my heart on which they’re so dear.

Teal is the color given to the poetry that’s read

Be it cantos of Sir Scott or sonnets of Shakespeare

There’s nothing quite so lovely that one may compare

To the words therein on the pages, so beautiful to the ear.

A resounding green heralds the touch of my hands

That resonates with a heat and unexpected healing

In ways far beyond the scope of my understanding

But still, the power of which is a depth of pure feeling.

Bold and beautiful, deep purplish blue is the color to which

I gravitate and move as it envelops in its intensity so true

Creating flowers and skies in such pieces as those of Van Gogh

Forever surrounding me in those things I pick and pursue.

The boldest and blackish of brown is the color given

To the multitude of scripts for the prose and stories inscribed

Always striving to create something purposeful and pleasing

It's from the depths of my mind and soul they're derived.

The soft glow of yellow radiates, warms, and infuses

With truest love and comfort as I move through the light

Performing a multitude of tasks while seeing all those

People and things most dear, keeping them well within sight.

The deep blue of midnight strikes and trumpets the arrival

Of nightly visions of dreams, the moon, and the stars

It cradles and soothes with a peace and encourages

In each direction, the extent of which is never too far.

All these beautiful, miraculous colors surround and complete

In ways created deep within my heart, soul, and being

Embodying those facets of life which I choose and so love

Taking aim and steering me on a path of choice and wellbeing.

inspirational

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cindy CalderWritten by Cindy Calder

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.