Poets logo

The Uniqueness of You

Yellows and Golds

By Cindy CalderPublished 3 years ago 2 min read

Dare I tread where you once lingered and walked

Through the hanging branches and along the winding pathways?

Feeling your presence as it hauntingly surfaces amidst

The raindrops that fall and cling to resoundingly stay.

The day surfaces, and it is bitter cold and echoingly hollow

As a deep and immeasurable gray attempts to fill the void

My soul reaches to touch the tiny remnants of you while inside me

The gray stretches around my heart as it twists and coils.

The days are gray and the nights are deeper still in darkness

I miss you while tears fall upon my face and my soul longingly sighs

Has it already been more than a year since you left?

It seems like yesterday you were nearby and my heart did not cry.

My world has become rather dull and full of dark grays

As I sit and watch the moon slowly creep across the sky at night

While in the day the sun rises and sets with an absence of joy

As I search for the unique remembrance of you in any crevice of light.

Mayhap one day the sun will burst forth in bright hues

Of yellows and golds as you slip through to reach me at long last

And all sound, sight, and color will explode in immense joy

As I see and feel the uniqueness of you while forgetting what is past.

So, today, I look to the skies with a forbearance of new hope

Searching for shades of blinding yellows through the clouds

Searching for you, knowing you’ll join me in life’s journey yet again

And lo, I spy a bird soaring high amidst the clouds, free and so proud.

There you are, my heart leaps and screams at the lone bird

The uniqueness of you has survived, it thrives and it soars

And my poor aching heart is filled again with hope, joy, and love as I see

You fly high through the golds and yellows, entrenched in their core.

My spirit jumps for joy as I know life still beats with every essence of you

Rooted in the vivid colors that burst forth in nature and the skies so deep

All about me you live and survive despite the loss of your human form

Joy floods my heart, my soul frees its anguish, and with abandon, I weep.



love poems

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Cindy CalderWritten by Cindy Calder

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.