Poets logo

Am I a fool for loving you?

King of sandcastles

By Veronica Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Zoe Holling on Unsplash

Am I a fool for loving you?

Too high to wonder why

You won’t just take me to the sky

Into your arms

Everyday,

Wish you’d let me stay,

Instead I feed off the hopeful words

That drip off your lips

The few times I’ve ever tasted your kiss

Cause you’re a runaway

Worse than me

Jabbing feathers in your back

Fetching the saddle

To ride horseback

Fearing I’ll attack

Prepared to fly away

With the reigns in your grip

Prepared to let me slip

Taking the lead

Not worried about the stampede

For the first sight of rain

You ride

Trying to hide

Before the storm

You’ve imagined

In your mind

A creation of your head

Assuming I would leave

After we laid together in bed

For you’ve become too blind

To see

To feel

To love

From the stubbornness

Built within

A man made of tin

Or worse

A King of sandcastles

In the Western desert

Of ancient ruins

With your calloused hands

You built a wall around your heart

Keeping us apart

Avoiding what we could again start

Never recognizing

You’ve left your mark

That any man I’ve ever loved

Has never had that spark

Wish you wouldn’t leave me in the dark

For you’ve always been a guiding light

The brightest of them all

The only name I’d ever call

From the heavens when we did fall

For I’d split my halo in two

Just to be with you

But the fear of the flesh

And the consequence of unwanted sex

Has left me with regret

And a shame

That I still take the blame

For not saying no

Louder,

Prouder,

Stronger,

Because maybe then,

You’d say yes,

But I guess I’ll never really know

Since traveling through time

I would surely risk the crime

For a love so sublime

Yet it may never make you mine

So I’ll just pretend that I’m fine.

excerptsheartbreaksocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Veronica

I am the moss silken on watered stones, rooted deep in rich soil. Earthen creature, I am the night sky -starry and strayed from the forgotten path of poets - I am, the chatter from the iron rails rattling as the train carries itself home.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.