Poets logo

Always on my Mind

Flash

By Megan AndersonPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Third Place in 2023 Vocal Writing Awards - Flash Fiction
11

I pay top dollar for the Elvis suit. She’s worth it. I knock – guitar in one hand, rhinestones glinting in the porchlight – and she greets me in a bathrobe. Perfect. She’s perfect. Right down to her dropped jaw. Adorable.

‘Don’t speak,’ I say, shimmying past her and falling to one knee on the flokati. I strum a few chords and go baritone.

Love me tend

My voice catches on the emotion. She’s feeling it too. She’s wide-eyed, clutching her robe to her heart, trembling. I’m nailing it. I knew the sight of my skinny arse in form-fitting white satin would sway her. The daily roses were a warm-up. The surprise visits to her workplace, the cologne-soaked letters, the parcels on her doorstep... all of it grist. This is the clincher. We’ll tell our grandkids this story someday.

I’m tackling that tricky barre chord in the bridge when the guy appears, also in a bathrobe. He’s not feeling it. He’s got me by the shoulder pads before I’m halfway through the chorus. A discordant clang bounces off the night as he hurls me and my six-string out the door.

I shrug. We belong together; she knows it. I grab the gasoline from the trunk of my Fiesta and slosh a heart shape onto her front lawn. She’ll love it. I maraca the matches. I strike a pose.

heartbreak
11

About the Creator

Megan Anderson

Loves a yarn. Draws a bit. Sings in the yard. Spells things the Australian way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    His utter lack of self awareness is equal parts infuriating, disturbing, and hilarious 👏👏👏👏

  • Zara Blume5 months ago

    This was so chilling. It broke my heart that she was trembling, and it enraged me that her stalker was so oblivious (or apathetic?) to what his behavior was doing to her. Well done.

  • Catsidhe5 months ago

    Funny and disturbing at the same time. Congratulations!

  • Test5 months ago

    Amazing job! Keep up the outstanding work—congrats!

  • I laughed the moment I read "Elvis suit" & remembered what was coming. Congratulations, Megan!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Congratulations on the win!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Great story. Congrats.

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    Congratulations! This one was my favourite!!! 🥰🥰

  • This was creeeeeepy! I wouldn't ever wanna be her!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Secret admirer turned stalker? Delusional either way? Yes. Lol, love this! Especially the way that we leave the woman’s reaction somewhat ambiguous, since she didn’t exactly close the door…Every word here is necessary; fantastic flash piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.