Poets logo

Along the Embankment of my Youth

Breaking generational cycles.

By Kaitlin OsterPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
19

Along the cracked embankment in the safety of my youth,

beneath a tree that grew with me and roots that drank the tide.

Carved in its bark were initials, scratched by my mother-

Declared a daughter, a young disciple, loyal to her, grateful for life.

Ever-changing adolescence lay beneath my feet like mossy beds and

flora well-fed with the rain and dews of spring twisting and turning.

Growing like my river tree, my mother watched until I was ready and

heaved her burdens on my back until I sank

into the mud. She saw my cry and lay back to die, unable to

justify exactly why, perhaps hoping for a partner in her miseries.

Killed by hopelessness, I could speculate.

Lost in darkness, I sat and waited, watching

moons pass over, all at once until her body reduced to bone.

Never did I think I’d carry my mother’s world of pain

on my back until I saw my childhood tree took my given name.

Portrayed as blank, no longer tied to my

Queen. My mother. My martyr.

Rains of change began to loosen me,

slowly the tide came and chewed away

the mud around my knees. I twisted and turned to break the bind,

until I saw my feet appear, intact like my soul and mind.

Veins throbbing above my eye as I replaced her burden with a knife and

wandered back up to my tree to carve an

"X." Nothing and everything. Whoever I wanted to be.

Yarrow welcomed my tired soul as I lay back to reach the

Zenith.

Mental HealthFamily
19

About the Creator

Kaitlin Oster

Professional writer.

Owner - Shadow Work Consulting, LLC

David Lynch MFA Program for Screenwriting with MIU, graduation 2023

Writing collaboration or work, speaking engagements, interviews - [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    Greatness in this piece

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Well done, a beautiful tribute to one who gives so much. Congratulations

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Such a good evocation of this journey.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    This is really love and time tested, ode to a mother.

  • Tressa Rose4 months ago

    Wow, this is by far my favorite that I've read for this challenge! Amazing job! New subscriber!

  • Amazing! Such an eloquent way to talk about breaking the trend that is generational trauma.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Wonderful job. Congrats on the TS

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    Strong visuals and so poignant! Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.