Poets logo

It Never Truly Is

Memory

By Kaitlin OsterPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

I never thought I'd long for the sting

of stale cigarettes in my nostrils each night,

as I watch the shadows of trees haunt my bedroom walls.

Or the taste of old wine prickling my mouth and burning

my throat as if it knew I was too young to lie.

I never thought I'd revel to tread down creaky sunrise stairs,

awash with old anxieties and the idea that somewhere,

under mossy earth, you'd stir a final time. To that, I wouldn't be opposed.

I never thought my hands would remember what my mind could not,

the ridges of your identity, and eternity in your rings.

I never thought my heart would melt with glacial pace

instead of break all at once, though I would have preferred

the latter.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kaitlin Oster

Professional writer.

Owner - Shadow Work Consulting, LLC

David Lynch MFA Program for Screenwriting with MIU, graduation 2023

Writing collaboration or work, speaking engagements, interviews - [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.