Poets logo

Alone

I Prefer Being Alone Over Being Surrounded By Drones

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Alone
Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

So many people I know are afraid of loneliness

that they lose themselves in others entirely

*

Maybe it's because I've been on my own most my life

that within my solitude I find stability and peace

*

I'm more afraid of being surrounded by crooked smiles

a crowd of pretenders

pretending to care for me

While feeling completely isolated

from any authentic connection

with people who are as fake as robotic Barbies

*

Sometimes when I tell people

I go to dinner, shows, and hikes on my own

they marvel in my independence

Afterward I shrug

because it doesn't seem like a huge accomplishment

to just live my life with myself

*

Don't get me wrong

I love when I can truly connect with someone

intimately sharing a real feeling of presence

*

I just feel that it's normal to do what I want

alone or with someone

regardless of what anyone one else thinks of me

*

Yeah often I walk alone

but I have yet to be lonely

like most who surround themselves with people

love poems

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manuel Sanz9 months ago

    Love story

Sarah JaneWritten by Sarah Jane

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.