Poets logo

Allergies

a memoir of childhood

By Joelle E🌙Published 12 months ago 1 min read
5
Allergies
Photo by Ivan Dostál on Unsplash

I’m allergic to grass

And P.E.

And people who make me feel weird;

I’m allergic to cats and dogs,

Normal things people do

Without thinking

Because they’ve never had to;

I’m allergic to tight little T-shirts

That make my boobs stick out

Like something obscene in a room full of kids,

Who don’t know what to call me except “funny”:

Rudolph with a bright red nose

Cause I’m fucking cold.

Always cold

Even in the cruel heat of summer

With not enough blood in my hands and feet

To keep me rooted me to the ground

But i’m not allergic to flowers.

Never have been.

Even when they made me sneeze,

I’d press them dry and tape them up onto the wall

Seeing something of myself

In their delicate beauty

Fragrant skin

And strange indefatigable will

To grow

nature poetry
5

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read11 months ago

    A stunning take on 'allergies'. I loved this poem, very candid and powerful.

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Thought I missed one from you recently! Love this, Joelle and sympathise that you had to go through all that and feel that way! Stunning work as always!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.