Poets logo

The Road I’ve Taken

A poem

By Joelle E🌙Published 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
The Road I’ve Taken
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Two roads diverged in the fog of dusk.

I took one whose ending I could not see

With no desire to be baptized by fire

Just a hunch toward whatever called to me

A few steps, and the weeds had entangled my feet

A few steps more, and I was lost

But that was just the beginning, you see

The start of the road not taken’s cost

It took years just to find the trail again

Years more to heal from the pain and strife

Now, as I sit on the edge of the wood

I wonder, why did I gamble my life?

There’s no rhyme or reason. No great mistake

No lesson to stash in my pack with me

I simply got lost amid winter’s frost

And now, as summer returns, I’m free

Two roads diverged in the wood of my life.

I took one that was wrong, but still ended up here

The journey was long and the scars may belong

Forever on me–

But the dawn feels so near

***

I took the road less traveled by, and that has made all the difference. ~ Robert Frost

“In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer.” – Albert Camus

If you like my work, please consider subscribing! Thank you!

heartbreak

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Ian Read12 months ago

    Wonderful take on a Frost classic (I am like thirty miles from where he lived lol). I loved how you weave so much sorrow and introspection but at the same time optimism and hope. Well done!

  • Bugsy Watts12 months ago

    The road less traveled is one of my favourites. This is a wonderful homage!

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    This is incredible...I am wondering how it ties in with the previous one you published a day ago. This reads as the beginning of the story to that one or have I got it round the wrong way. I just love your handle on immersing us in the imagery with that deep emotional hit! Well done, Joelle!

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    I loved this very much! It’s packed heavy with emotions and so relatable! “The journey was long and the scars may belong” I felt this line!!

Joelle E🌙Written by Joelle E🌙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.