Poets logo

all seeing

a poem

By Alivia VarvelPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
22
all seeing
Photo by Hassan OUAJBIR on Unsplash

someone tell the sun to shine in my eyes.

i'm tired of catching glimpses

in the mirror,

in a black screen,

in a tinted window.

i'll sooner shatter every looking glass

than fix my hair and all that is wrong.

i'll take the pieces

and plaster them on my walls.

maybe the sun will hit them just right

so i can see nothing but the rays and waves

of the light of a star millions of miles away

and not the reflection mere feet in front of me.

i'm tired of catching her eye,

the one that judges and condemns.

she does not rest until she finds

every last speck of dust in front of her.

someone tell the sun to shine in my eyes.

or at least,

tell the woman in the mirror to close hers.

sad poetry
22

About the Creator

Alivia Varvel

time is the most precious commodity

https://www.aliviavarvel.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Poetry9 months ago

    Your words are so hauntingly beautiful

  • Test9 months ago

    Oh, wow! So on point and insightful. We all hold a mirror in front of us, and too many don't realise it. In actuality, we judge ourselves and project ourselves rather than the other way around. I've learnt, through many long, hard years, to respond inwardly: your judgement is your problem, not mine. Bravo, Alivia. I love this 💕😊

  • Trip L.9 months ago

    wow. I really enjoyed how this felt personally. It seems other in the comments felt the same way- a touch of familiarity. Well done!

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    I often look back and wonder why I'm still here, why do my children love me, why my friends keep telling me what a great friend I am. I often wonder if there's a portrait somewhere of me as Dorain Grey just waiting to show its telltale sign of who I really am. But then, maybe it's my self-doubt that makes me think I'm unworthy.

  • Ruwan Pushpajith9 months ago

    Hi I love this (Poignant reflection on self-image, longing for the sun's liberating embrace.)

  • Tressa Rose9 months ago

    This was beautifully written! Congrats on top story 👏

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I love this so much 🥳

  • Mark Graham9 months ago

    Quite the poem and quite the picture one can draw.

  • Lovely 💖📝✌️💯✨👍Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    I love this, the connections and correlations flow through the meanings beautifully. Really well done! I'm putting this in the discord!

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    I feel this! Wow. You command the written word so masterfully. I think this line gets to something deeper: "she does not rest until she finds every last speck of dust in front of her." It pairs well with the image of a sunbeam revealing every speck of dust in the air that is otherwise invisible. It poses a question. Can we trade the all-seeing looking glass (our inner eye) for another, and expect a different result? I like pondering that. Trading sight for certain blindness (sun in my eye). What is gained? Amazing writing, Alivia!

  • This was so heartbreaking and relatable. The struggle is just too real. You conveyed this so beautifully in your poem! Extremely well done!

  • Kenny Penn9 months ago

    So beautiful, and so relatable. Thanks for sharing!

  • Oh, my gosh, how can I fully put into words what I wish to say on this piece? First off, it’s very compelling and beautiful. I love your use of visual imagery throughout. That last sentence was absolutely resonant. I have been there. Keep writing. I loved this one.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.