Poets logo

All I Ask For

Changing an Ableist Narrative

By Michelle Renee KidwellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2022
50
Image from Cottonbro on Pexels

I see the way

You paint my life

In tragedy

Sad eyes

And curious

Stares wanting

To offer me

Up a dish

Of pity

But you don’t

Know my story

How could you

When I’m silenced

Every time

I try to speak.

Photo by Jill Wellington from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/brown-haired-kid-on-grass-field-459949/

You strip children

Of natural curiosity

And me of an

Opportunity to

Educate

It’s not

A child’s innocent

Curiosity

That angers me

But an adults

Blatant stupidity

When it comes

To how they

Define me.

Photo by Polina Tankilevitch from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-with-prosthetic-hand-in-a-hoodie-5386243/

You teach your

Children to be

Afraid of what’s different

With your thoughtless words

And oh I am so sorries

As you Shush a curious

Child

Taking with you

A chance

To teach compassion

And understanding.

Photo by Anna Shvets from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-sitting-while-looking-lonely-3732640/

Don’t think

That offering up

Pity

In a shiny dish

“Fixes” what isn’t broken

And hero worship

Isn’t what I need either

All I ask for

Is equal standing.

© Michelle R Kidwell

July.15.2022

social commentary
50

About the Creator

Michelle Renee Kidwell

Abled does not mean enabled. Disabled does not mean less abled.” ― Khang Kijarro Nguyen

Fighting to end ableism, one, poem, story, article at a time. Will you join me?

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Jenine Bsharah Baines2 years ago

    This is so POWERFUL! Brava!

  • Su card2 years ago

    A wonderful piece of work!

  • Ebony Dominguez2 years ago

    A wonderful piece of work!

  • Such a great piece. Keep up the good work. Thank you for being a dope author. You're one of the best in my book!!

  • J.R. Neal2 years ago

    My god, this is such a beautiful piece. This gave me chills. I wish I could read this for the first time again.

  • Ro2 years ago

    "It’s not / A child’s innocent / Curiosity / That angers me / But an adults / Blatant stupidity / When it comes / To how they / Define me." This is phenomenal writing! I'm going to be thinking of this part all day.

  • Beautiful writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.