Poets logo

Air Brushed, Filtered, And The Other Woman Half My Age

Becoming Friends With My Reflection

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3

I'm tired of feeling ashamed of my age,

my height, weight and wage,

my house, clothes or how I look naked.

I want to feel at home in my skin.

be loved for the me that's within

and for once, find peace, with my reflection

For too many years I've struggled with being enough-

pretending I'm tough,

and not being over the fact that you cheated.

I want to know how real happiness feels -

believe beauty is more than sex appeal,

in the shadows of the air brushed girls we compete with.

So, here's to all of you, who feel like me -

finding the courage to break free,

from the expectations placed on us, unwanted.

To the ones who let you down -

projecting their insecurities around,

making you feel less, torn up, confused and wounded.

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Wonderfully said. Bravo. Btw, you look gorgeous.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Courageous performance poem!!! You are enough and positive self-talk helps.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.