Poets logo

aftermath

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

after flyin in an unusual mode

I slump

into my own little world

its cosy here, I have everythin I need

plenty of tea and thoughts to hang upon

Ive locked all previous smells and sights

in numerous boxes

of disparate sizes, colours, textures

Im wonderin

what the future may bring now

my health has deteriorated since I first entered these walls

I am brittler in body but stronger in spirit

I know I did what I could

to be on good terms with myself

whilst I cant have what I need

just what I want

so as usual I will cover my face

in a tragic mask emergin from the dark

failed disguise from the past

remindin me it was worth it

dive in the stream of the new

abuse-free reality for a while

before I wrap myself up

into a much smaller shape than my soul is now

tortured, traumatised, trimmed

yet gettin stronger with each subsequent move

prepped

to be the greatest ever

naturally

surrounded by enemies

tryin to grab that last bite

not for me though so please let it go

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryinspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Mescaline BrissetWritten by Mescaline Brisset

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.