Poets logo

After The Show

Four Poems on How We Felt At The Show And Afterwards

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago β€’ Updated 2 years ago β€’ 1 min read
16
Photo by Aditya Chinchure on Unsplash

This is a collaborative poem between my good friend Melissa Ingoldsby and myself. It is for the After The Parade Vocal Challenge.

The concept was watching a show together and how each of us felt during the show, and then how we felt when we were home alone.

The Vocal editor is fine but has limits and sometimes that sets a good challenge.

We decided to have The Show and Home as separate entities but set in columns next to each other. Melissa first then me.

So there are four poems woven together to tell the story.

The show was "The Last Waltz" the final concert by The Band, though this happened before Melissa was born. If you are unaware of it you can watch it on Amazon Prime

This poem is best viewed on a computer screen as there are no tabs and mobile devices, especially in portrait mode mess up the format though it is still readable. The screenshot versions below should show properly on any device:

The editor decided to ignore the spaces so had to add stops to space it .

πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜ πŸ’˜

Melissa

The Show .........................πŸ’˜

Cloudy in my brain...............πŸ’˜.......At the show, it was perfect

I sought out your kindness.....πŸ’˜.......It was our perfect night,

Your poetry.........................πŸ’˜......Watching that grand music stand

Linked in my brain................πŸ’˜.....Home

Suffocating my sadness..........πŸ’˜.......Melancholy hits my ear,

Bright, too bright..................πŸ’˜.......I missed the tone

I hate summer days...............πŸ’˜.......Of your conversation

But summer nights................πŸ’˜.......And brotherhood in my heart,

Are long and brilliant.............πŸ’˜.......I’ll check my heart

Listening to lush sounds.........πŸ’˜.......To reverberate to yours,

And sympathetic notes...........πŸ’˜.......A dream I’ll link to you,

...................................................πŸ’˜.....Of our musical interlude

Mike

The Show...........................πŸ’˜.......Home

We Sat Together....................πŸ’˜.......I Loved Tonight,

Holding Hands......................πŸ’˜.......Being With You

Singing Songs........................πŸ’˜.......Now I'm Alone

Our Favourite Band................πŸ’˜.......Sadder It's True

Through The Encore...............πŸ’˜.......I Wish I Could Call

The Lights Went Down............πŸ’˜.......Hear Your Voice

We Left Together....................πŸ’˜.......I Know You Are Sleeping

Goodbye Now.........................πŸ’˜.......Dreams of Joy

Took The Bus Home................πŸ’˜.......I Want To Be With You

A Little Sad............................πŸ’˜.......I'll See You Soon

Us

love poems
16

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Celia β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Eugenette Morin2 years ago

    What an awesome idea! Loved it

  • Penny Fuller2 years ago

    What a fun concept- and such a great choice of topic. You two really did a great job showing the conflicting feelings of joy at the show but sadness knowing that this is going to be the last.

  • I like collaborative work. I actually created one with an entire Creative Writing class by asking them to answer a question and after reading their written responses I chose one or two lines from what they wrote, forming the poem. Now that I have seen yours, I think I will submit it. Good Job!

  • This was so wonderful! Loved the collab

  • Irene Mielke2 years ago

    I love how creative this is!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Very nice. Well done to both of you

  • Misty Rae2 years ago

    Very original! Love it.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Impressive and beautiful!!!πŸ’–πŸ’•

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.